History Of The Flour Mill
The Flour Mill, built in 1895, is a turn-of-the-century architectural remnant of the industrial history of Spokane Falls. It began full operation in 1900 and continued as a flour mill until1960. In 1973 it was purchased by a limited partnership to be developed into shops and offices in preparation for Expo 74 which was being created nearby.
In 1974 The Flour Mill benefited from exposure to over five million visitors to expo 74, a World’s Fair celebrating the environment and occurring in the heart of Spokane. The Mill, which was located at the north entrance to Expo, received recognition from local, regional and national media. A number of restaurants and locally owned shops including the now beloved Clinkerdaggers made this historic site an especially desirable stop for tourists to the town.
In the 35 years since the Expo, the building has continued to house some of the most interesting and remarkable retail shops that the city has to offer. Two of these businesses, Tobacco World and Olde Joe Clark’s Photography Studio have been in the Mill since the Expo.
This fascinating historic site remains one of the landmarks of Spokane’s early years as a city and one of Spokane’s most interest shopping and eating destinations.